SPRINGFIELD – An expanded voting by mail program signed into law in May 2020 will be extended, further ensuring Illinoisans have access to the ballot box, State Senator Michael E. Hastings (D-Frankfort) said.

“The vote is a cornerstone of our democracy upon which civil liberties rest,” Hastings said. “Looking around the country today, there are states actively trying to limit one’s ability to exercise one of the basic, inalienable rights bestowed upon us. Because of legislation like this, that will not happen in Illinois. I remain focused on expanding the accessibility and security of the vote in our state and am proud of this common-sense solution.”

As a result of House Bill 1871, three mail-in voting opportunities which were used during the 2020 General Election will be extended:

  • Allows election authorities to establish permanent ballot drop boxes and accept mail-in ballots from those drop boxes.
  • Establishes a permanent requirement of election authorities to accept mail-in ballots regardless of postage paid by the voter.
  • Allows election authorities to establish curbside voting for individuals to cast a ballot during early voting or on Election Day.

“As we enter the waning days of the COVID-19 pandemic, there are still those who do not feel comfortable in large crowds,” Hastings said. “Whether it is expanding access to drop boxes or curbside voting, or making sure ballots make it to the appropriate election authority, it is the right thing to do on behalf of all Illinois residents.”

This legislation is effective immediately upon receiving the governor’s signature.

Category: Press Releases

Small Business Tour

eNewsletter Signup
  1. First Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  2. Last Name(*)
    Invalid Input
  3. Your Email(*)
    Please let us know your email address.


Welcome to the official website of Senator Michael E. Hastings. Please fill out our contact form to contact Senator Hastings directly or you may call any of our offices. We look forward to hearing from you.

Springfield Office:
121-D Capitol Building
Springfield, IL 62706
(217) 782-9595

East Office:
813 School Ave
Matteson, IL 60443

District Office:
20855 South LaGrange Road
Frankfort, IL 60423
(815) 464-5431

Senate Chambers